Practices: | Categories: , , , , , ,


The International Trademark Association (INTA) have announced the 2019 Ladas Memorial Award Competition Winners. The Ladas Memorial Award Competition is an annual writing competition hosted by INTA and supported by Ladas & Parry LLP which rewards professionals and students of intellectual property.

Professional Category Winner:

  • Mark Lemley, Stanford Law School, Fame, Parody and Policing in Trademark Law 

Student Category Winners:

  • Sara Gold, California Western Law, Honey Badger Don’t Care, but the Legal Community Does
  • Doori Song, Notre Dame Law School, Blackhorse’s Last Stand?: The First Amendment Battle Against the Washington “Redskins” Trademark After Matal v. Tam

The Ladas Memorial Award Competition was established by the partners of Ladas & Parry to honor the memory of the outstanding contributions to international intellectual property law made by the distinguished practitioner, inductee of the IP Hall of Fame, and author, Dr. Stephen P. Ladas.

Papers are submitted in two separate author categories — one competition for students and another for professionals. In each category, the award is given to the paper which INTA judges deem as being the best on the subject of trademark law or a matter that directly relates to or affects trademarks.

The professional winner of the 2019 Ladas Memorial Award receives the Stephen P. Ladas’s three-volume treatise, Patents, Trademarks, and Related Rights and a complimentary registration to the 2019 INTA Annual Meeting. The student winners each receive $2,500 as well as a complimentary registration to the 2019 INTA Annual Meeting. The winning papers are considered for potential publication in the INTA legal journal, The Trademark Reporter.



Share b