Categories: | Categories: ,

INTA Announces the 2008 – 2009 Ladas Memorial Award Competition Winners

On June 9, 2009, the International Trademark Association (INTA) announced the 2008 – 2009 Ladas Memorial Award Competition Winners. The Ladas Memorial Award Competition is an annual writing competition hosted by INTA and supported by Ladas & Parry LLP which rewards both professionals and students of intellectual property. The Ladas Memorial Award Competition was established by the partners of Ladas & Parry to honor the memory of the outstanding contributions to international intellectual property law made by the distinguished practitioner and author, Dr. Stephen P. Ladas.

Papers are submitted in two separate author categories — one competition for students and another for professionals. In each category, the award is given to the paper which INTA judges as being the best on the subject of trademark law or a matter that directly relates to or affects trademarks.

“The Ladas Memorial Award Competition produces consistently high quality submissions as befits the standard of scholarship and creativity Dr. Ladas brought to his work over his many years at the firm”, says Allan Pilson, a senior partner at Ladas & Parry LLP.

This year’s winners are, in the student category, Philipp G. Sandner, Ph.D. candidate, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München and, in the professional category, Thomas Folsom, Associate Professor, Regent University School of Law. Mr. Sandner’s winning entry was his paper, “Trademark Filing Strategies and Their Valuation: Creating, Hedging, Modernizing, and Extending Brands” and Mr. Folsom’s winning paper was entitled, “Space Pirates, Hitchhikers, Guides, and the Public Interest: Transformational Trademark Law in Cyberspace.”

Share b